1 Million Pillowcase Challenge Blog Hop



Today the Moda Bake Shop is hosting the 1 Million Pillowcase Challenge blog hop! Oda May whipped up a pillowcase to share with you.
Hello, Moda Bake Shop readers and blog hoppers! I made my pillowcase using All People Quilt's free pattern for a basic pillowcase + a few modifications to make it Moda Bake Shop ready. Click here for the basic pillowcase pattern.

The steps below tell you how to modify the cuff of the pillowcase. Use a 1/4'' seam for piecing. Assembly seams are 1/2" as indicated in the basic pillowcase pattern.


3/4 yard fabric for pillowcase body {Bella Solids 9900 73 - Clover used}
4 layer cake squares {Oh Deer! by MoMo used}




Cut your solid fabric to 26.5" x 41" as indicated in the basic pillowcase pattern. Cut your width of fabric carefully so that you have two 1.25" strips from each end. This will be used to piece the cuff.

Cut your 1.25" strips to lengths of 10". Sew a strip to one side of three of your layer cake squares (remember, a 1/4" seam). Press seams. Sew all strips together so there is a solid strip between each layer cake:



Proceed with the rest of the basic pillowcase instructions (use a 1/2" seam for here on out).


A pretty patchwork pillowcase!


 Ready to sew up a few pillocases? Don't forget to Hop on over to the other blogs on the hop for more inspiration:

{And don't forget to let APQ know that you made and donated a pillowcase to help them reach ONE MILLION.}

1. Welcome from American Patchwork & Quilting {www.allpeoplequilt.com/blogs/apqstaff}
2. Rashida Coleman-Hale {www.iheartlinen.typepad.com}
3. Olivia and Alayna's Pillowcase Project {www.allpeoplequilt.com/blogs/apqstaff}
4. Morgan’s Smile Factory {www.allpeoplequilt.com/blogs/apqstaff}
5. Pat Sloan {blog.patsloan.com}
6. Northcott {pattispatchwork.com}
7. Betsy Chutchian {betsysbestquiltsandmore.blogspot.com}
8. Vanessa Christenson {www.vanessachristenson.com}
9. Andover Fabrics {blog.andoverfabrics.com}
10. Laurie Simpson {minickandsimpson.blogspot.com}
11. Oak Hill, Ohio {www.allpeoplequilt.com/blogs/apqstaff}
12. Robert Kaufman Fabrics {www.swatchandstitch.com}
13. Pam Buda{www.heartspunquilts.blogspot.com}
14. Indygo Junction {www.indygojunction.com/blog}
15. 4-H {www.allpeoplequilt.com/blogs/apqstaff}
16. Katie Hennagir {baywindowquiltshop.wordpress.com}
17. Anni Downs {hatchedandpatched.typepad.com}
18. FreeSpirit Fabrics {www.freespiritfabric.blogspot.com}
19. American Patchwork & Quilting Staff {www.allpeoplequilt.com/blogs/apqstaff}
20. Patty Young {modkidboutique.blogspot.com}
21. Moda Fabrics {modafabrics.blogspot.com}
22. Monica Solorio-Snow {thehappyzombie.com/blog}
23. Moda Bake Shop {www.modabakeshop.com}
24. Andover Fabrics {blog.andoverfabrics.com}
25. Roseann Kermes from Rosebud’s Cottage {rosebudscottage.typepad.com}
26. Ann Kelle for Shannon Fabrics {www.annkelle.com/category/blog}
27. Therm O Web {blog.thermoweb.com}
28. Edyta Sitar {www.laundrybasketquilts.com/blog}
29. Fabri-Quilt {inspiredbyfabric.blogspot.com}
30. Cherri House {www.cherryhousequilts.com}

APQ Pillowcase Challenge!

Happy sewing!

5 comments:

Creando con graciela said...

Las fundas para almohadas son preciosas, me gusta mucho la elección de las telas.
Desde SALTA, ARGENTINA un abrazo GRACIELA

BizyStitches said...

I like the way you did you cuff for the pillowcase. Thanks for showing this to us.

Maria Celina said...

HERMOSA, ME GUSTA

ABRAZOS

city said...

thanks for sharing..

Mazie Gentner said...

I think I can recreate that design on bed headboards too. Can you do this on bed covers too?